Monitor Fortinet devices via TIG stack

Krisaggio
8 min readMar 5, 2021

In the pandemics epoch, it is easy to get bored, but it is in time like these that creative ideas raise to make lifetime changes. Unfortunately, I haven’t got one, so I wrote this article describing how to collect metrics and logs from Fortinet devices in a centralized, useful, and more appealing way.

Grafana Dashboard Example

Why ?

Moving to my last house, I found the home router with a horrible Wi-Fi signal, so I decided to undust my FortiWifi 60D (Thanks R.F. :-). After setting up the basics I felt a sensation in my guts, which it result to be a need to “Grafanize” performance and logs on my rpi.

What ?

In real enterprise scenarios, it is vital to keep all core devices monitored and the traffic supervised, but, in my domestic environment, play with logs or try to find out why my Netflix streaming slow down is what I would make the most of. As usual, there are different approaches but this was my little journey.

How ?

Collecting performance metrics via SNMP and Syslogs via rsyslogd. The TIG stack (Telegraf, InfluxDB, and Grafana) running on containers will parse, store and finally display our data.

Minimum requirements:

  • Docker
  • SNMP/MIBs (Fortinet provide their proprietary

--

--